Scalloped Knit Top

I’m going to start changing format a little. I spend so much time writing blog posts – nearly two hours per post because I’m such a perfectionist when it comes to writing and editing. That’s a whole lot of time I could be stitching. I’m going to start being a little more brief with my posts in hopes that I might actually get more accomplished. So, here goes:

DSC_0862

This is a scalloped edge handknit top from my own design. I was planning on releasing it as a Vint Hill Knits pattern but I had a lot of trouble with the scalloped hem curling up. I solved the issue by going back and stitching in and out of each scallop on the back side to keep them straight. It’s worked for the most part, but a published pattern shouldn’t need to be hacked like that to work. I’ll work on the issue for a future design. For now, I have a cute top.

DSC_0863

I’m not thrilled with the width of the shoulders, I should have narrowed them to be more like a tank top and less like a sleeveless top.

 

DSC_0864

I added a fancy little ribbon trim that’s threaded through lace holes under the bust. I’m not sure this is the right style for me since I have a large rib cage. Perhaps I shouldn’t try that again.

DSC_0865

The yarn is Sublime Yarns Soya Cotton DK which is a cotton/soy blend. It’s supremely soft. I adore it but sadly it’s discontinued.

All in all, I love this top, though.

Ravelry link with minimal details. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Scalloped Knit Top

  1. Love this top – bummer the ribbon’s discontinued. Sometimes a post will take me a week to finish, cuz I get frustrated with it and just walk away for a while, but then others I just pop in, pop off, and pop out.

Leave a comment